Skip to main content
horizon view of the Barossa area


The Barossa Council was originally formed in 1996 after the amalgamation of the District Councils of Barossa, Tanunda, and Angaston. The majority of the District Council of Mount Pleasant was later amalgamated in 1997.

We are one of the largest regional local government authorities in South Australia, covering the internationally renowned Barossa wine region. Further information on the Council's vision, plans and strategies can be found here.

Our vision is enhancing our premium wine, food, and tourism region and its unique lifestyle, heritage, and community spirit.

Subscribe to stay up to date