Skip to main content

Our townships

You’ve probably heard of Angaston, Nuriootpa and Lyndoch, but what about Altona? Or, Bethany, Craneford and Penrice? The list goes on…

We a Post-European history, beautiful landscapes and hundreds of years of aboriginal heritage. With our oldest settlement dating back to 1842, the Barossa is characterised by its rich heritage, charming villages, rolling hills, stone churches and iconic vineyards. Our townships are one of the main reasons people come to visit the area.

A small township approximately two kilometres east of Lyndoch. Subdivided by J Mattner in 1866.

One of the three larger towns in the Barossa Valley. Angaston was established in1842 and named after George Fife Angas. Many of the streets are named after the Angas family. The area was formerly named German Pass.

Download Angaston Township Map & Index here.

A township one and a half kilometres south-east of Tanunda. Settled in 1842. Originally named Bethanien after a village near Jerusalem. It was renamed to Bethany in 1918.

Laid out by William Clarke and Charles Crane in 1865. It is now largely returned to broadacre.

A township four kilometres south-west of Lyndoch. Swarming with Cockatoos, it was named by Messrs, Hill, Wood and John Oakden in 1838.

Download Cockatoo Valley Township Map & Index here.

The first subdivision in 1877 by L Simon, F Oehm and L Belling when part of it was sold to the government for educational purposes.

Download Concordia Township Map & Index here.

A farming district between Mount Pleasant and Mount Crawford. Possibly named after Cromer in Norfolk, England.

Located between Angaston and Nuriootpa. It was the name given to Seppelts’ siding of the Angaston railway in 1918. It was named after General Smith-Dorrien of British fame in World War 1.

A private town laid out by William Lillecrapp of Gumeracha in 1864.

Download Eden Valley Township Map & Index here.

Located west of Gawler. The town was laid out by Roy F Luck in 1959. Kalbeeba is the Aboriginal name for bark.

Download Kalbeeba Township Map & Index here.

Located two and a half kilometres east of Nuriootpa. It was named after Colonel William Light who passed through the area in 1836 in search of a pass through the Barossa Ranges from Adelaide to the River Murray. The town was settled in 1845.

One of the larger towns in the area, situated at the Southern end of the Barossa Valley. It was named in 1837 by Colonel William Light after his friend General Graham. General Graham fought with Colonel Light in the Peninsular War in Spain in 1812 and later became Lord Lynedoch. A mistake in spelling Lyndoch for Lynedoch was made by early mapmakers but it was not noticed soon enough to rectify. The area was settled in 1837.

Download Lyndoch Township Map & Index here.

Located seven and a half kilometres north-east of Angaston, first known as “The Duck Ponds” because of a large number of wild ducks. Moculta is an Aboriginal name for “large hill” which refers to Parrott Hill near the town. Named by Abraham Shannon. The town was surveyed in 1865.

Download Moculta Township Map & Index here.

Located east of Williamstown. Surveyed by Colonel William Light in 1838. It is named after a stockman, Crawford who camped nearby while overlanding cattle from one of the eastern states.

The name Nuriootpa comes from an Aboriginal word “Nquraitpa” which is thought to be named as a reference to the place of meeting and barter for the Aborigines. The town was surveyed in 1850.

Download Nuriootpa Township Map & Index here.

Located one and a half kilometres north-west of Angaston. It was founded by Captain Richard Rodda who subdivided his land for the town in 1850. The name Penrice comes from an estate near his hometown of St Austell in Wales.

Download Penrice Township Map & Index here.

Located six and a half kilometres south-west of Tanunda. The area was a portion of the 27th Special Survey of Edward Rowlands and Joseph Gilbert. Several German families, including Johann Gramp, the founder of the Orlando Winery, settled to the north at Jacob’s Creek in 1843-47. The township was surveyed in 1850.

A small town on the North Para River six kilometres north-west of Lyndoch. Settled in 1849 and named after the German word “Rosethal”, which means “Rose Valley”.

Located eight kilometres east of Gawler.

Download Sandy Creek Township Map & Index here.

Christian Hady and Christian Wllschutzky initiated the idea of Springton on lease land in early 1864. Charles Tideman bought the property and laid out the subdivision later that year. The name Springton likely came from George Fife Angas’ dairy, “The Springs” on the headwaters of nearby Spring Creek.

Download Springton Township Map & Index here.

Located six and a half kilometres north-east of Nuriootpa. Named after Samuel Stockwell, a butcher and a coltbreaker who owned a section of land out of the town, he surveyed the township on his land in 1856.

Download Stockwell Township Map & Index here.

In 1842 and 1843, the villages Bethany and Langmeil were established on land purchased by Charles Flaxman, George Fife Angas’ agent. In 1848, the first allotment was sold and the township soon grew. The name Tanunda is a corruption for an Aboriginal word meaning “waterhole” or “abundance of wildfowl”.

Download Tanunda Township Map & Index here.

Located midway between Tanunda, Nuriootpa and Angaston. Settlers arrived in the early 1850s. The soil was too sandy to grow wheat but it proved very suitable for growing vines so the area received the name, Vine Vale.

Named after William Johnston, a son of Lewis Johnston, who exchanged a mob of horses for 32 hectares from Thomas Adams in 1857, and subdivided the land.

Download Williamstown Township Map & Index here.

Subscribe to stay up to date