Skip to main content

Land division

A land division is the division of land into at least two allotments, or a realignment of boundaries between at least two existing allotments.

Torrens Title

In a Torrens Title division the resulting allotments are held independently of one another. There are generally no shared facilities or infrastructure.

Community Title

In a Community Title division there is an area of common property. Common property relates to those portions of land that do not form part of an allotment and typically includes the service infrastructure and driveways that are shared.

In South Australia development approval must be obtained before land can be divided under the Development Act 1993 and the Real Property Act 1886.

For land division standards and requirements refer to our Guidelines for undertaking land division.

Subscribe to stay up to date