Skip to main content

Landscape board levy and programs

The Barossa Valley falls within the Northern and Yorke Landscape Board region. The Region extends for 48,500 square kilometres and encompasses the Yorke Peninsula, significant areas of the Spencer Gulf and Gulf St Vincent, the Southern Flinders Ranges, the northern Mount Lofty Ranges, the Barossa Valley and northern Adelaide Plains.

The Landscape SA Levy provides additional funding for the ongoing care and management of landscapes for future generations and to deliver on commitments outlined in the Regional Landscape Plan. We collect the levy annually and forwards the funds to the Northern and Yorke Landscape Board.

Anyone who owns a rateable (pays council rates) property in the Northern and Yorke region. Your council rates notice show the levy separately.

The Landscape SA levy contributes to funding the Landscape Levy Board’s delivery of the Regional Landscape Plan and programs that support communities, townships and a diverse range of industries.

This can include activities such as:

  • Pest plant and animal monitoring.
  • Research and control.
  • Property planning.
  • Wild dog management.
  • Events and workshop.
  • Climate change adaptation planning.
  • Aboriginal skills and capacity development.
  • Involvement of Traditional owners and traditional ecological knowledge in landscape management.
  • Catchment and springs monitoring and management.
  • Water allocation planning and water affecting activity permits, to name a few.

Contact information

Northern and Yorke Landscape Board
155 Main North Road
Clare, South Australia

P: (08) 8841 3400

Gawler Environment Centre
43 High Street
Gawler East, South Australia

P: (08) 8115 4600

Opening hours: Tues, Wed, Thu: 9.00 am to 4:00 pm

Subscribe to stay up to date